Haft Tanan Crypt (Museum of Historical Stones)
Haft Tanan means "seven bodies", and the site is called so because of the seven tombs located in its courtyard. The tombs reportedly belong to seven dervishes. The identical tombstones, lacking any inscription, were installed in the middle of the courtyard during Karim Khan's rule. Six of them stretch in a row, while the seventh is placed behind them.
Hafez the great Iranian Poet
When we speak of 14thcentury Shiraz, or when the city is so much as is mentioned among educated Westerners, people immediately recall the name that has become the very symbol of the Persian lyric for both Eastern and Western readers - that of Mohammad Shams al Din Hafez. But famous as this poet is in both East and West, and as much as his poetry has been interpreted and analyzed, our knowledge of Hafez's life remains sadly inadequate.
Mausoleum of Hafez
When Hafez died, he was buried in the Mosalla cemetery, which stretches from the north bank of the Dry River and Imamzadeh Ali ibn Hamzeh, to the foothills of Mount Chehel Maqam; most of it has been demolished during city construction projects. It is said that the orthodox refused to have Hafez buried in a Muslim cemetery because of his anti-orthodox, sensual poetry; however, influenced by an oracle taken from his poetry they finally agreed to a proper burial.
Armenian Church of St. Mary
Since records of Armenians living in Shiraz go back to at least the 16th century, it seems natural that there should be a historical church building in Shiraz. St. Mary's Armenian Church was built in 1662, at the time of Shah Abbas II Safavid. It stands in the midst of a neat, garden-like compound on the site where previously stood a small chapel.
Moshir al Molk Mosque
The beautiful religious building remained from the Qajar era, the Moshir al Molk mosque was built on the initiative of Mirza Abulhasan Moshir al-Molk, the great ruler of the province of Fars during the Qajar period. The construction lasted ten years and was completed in 1858. These dates can be read on the different Evans of the mosque - 1849 in the west and 1858 in the east.